top of page

Diaries

Within my blog, I have separated my diaries into two categories:

Development Diaries - These posts discuss changes and alterations to my work, planning for future development and reflecting on the task at hand.

Production Diaries - These posts will discuss and evaluate my decisions when creating any final pieces of production. 

These diaries may not be uploaded within the exact order made - some of them have been developed upon throughout the project, an example being my production diaries, and therefore may appear in the 'wrong' places.  

  • Writer's pictureDan

Compiling Final Script

As briefly mentioned in a previous post, I aim to get the finalised script bound for the exhibition – to both evidence our work and act as a display material alongside our other planned pieces. For this goal to be achieved, I would need all of the writer’s finalised scripts in one document under a cohesive format – To look professional and add to our team’s image.


However, I instantly ran into my first hurdle. For the script to be finalised and sent for binding, I would need all of the script the writers have produced; this proved a challenge due to sickness and other personal matters. As the lead writer, I decided that I would finalise the scripts and compile them into our final draft but not all my writing team sent me the scripts within the time period designated – delaying not only the writing team but my personal work as well (This production diary for example). To overcome this obstacle, I started to format the scripts I had on my own – Unlike sitting down as a group and discussing like planned – as to not waste more time. This was a tough decision as it meant that the other members of my group would not have much of a say in the final format, however it was needed to be done as to prevent not having a script at all.


At this time, I had two members pieces of works instead of three, therefore I merged our formatting styles to produce an effective looking script with less time wasted. With this, I copied Jess’ structural format because it consumed less space on the page and looked very professional. I made some minor tweaks and adjustments to make certain aspects clear to the reader, for example both the speech and ‘stage directions’ were italicised, so I changed it – imitating a TV/Movie script, only the ‘stage directions’ and notable text was in italics. I also bolded the speaking character as to make it easier for our audience to read and keep track off – applying my research that the audience will get disassociated with large texts that aren’t split up. I also kept the sound formatting because it would be easier for the reader to differentiate, with sound cues being blue text with voice acted line sticking with yellow highlights.


Whilst formatting the script, I made the scripts progress as the character would: beginning cutscene, introductory script, player interactions, final cutscene. Doing this would maintain the readers sense of flow as they would follow the progression as if they would whilst playing the game. However, due to the character interaction scripts being optional and can be selected within any order, I linked the characters through their quests – an example being that Teddy is visited through Polo’s quest so then Teddy’s script would come after Polo’s – therefore keeping that state of flow.


After receiving and formatting the final script, I gave the writers the finalised version for them to format as they wish, despite not being used for the exhibition, any extra work is a bonus and helps the exhibition goers get an idea of the concepts that go behind games writing, not just the final product they can see. I also asked the writers to produce their own front cover for the script, so then we can decide on the best ideas to produce the final front cover to be sent off and bound with the script. Asking to do these tasks also helped ease them, as they did help contribute to the exhibition script – therefore keeping morale and productivity high.


Overall, despite it’s complications, building the finalised script has been successful as the format is cohesive and the document looks rather professional – with all of the writing team feeling like they contributed to the final result, not just handing their work out. If I were to attempt this in the future, I wouldn’t leave formatting until this late in production as to prevent a repeat of what happened. From this, I will also make sure that there is an equal amount of our work being presented to the public as to prevent bias and dip in team morale.

Recent Posts

See All

Exhibition Time

Now that production has stopped and the hand in has passed, there will no longer be any Dev/Production diaries within this thread. To see...

Commentaires


bottom of page