top of page

Diaries

Within my blog, I have separated my diaries into two categories:

Development Diaries - These posts discuss changes and alterations to my work, planning for future development and reflecting on the task at hand.

Production Diaries - These posts will discuss and evaluate my decisions when creating any final pieces of production. 

These diaries may not be uploaded within the exact order made - some of them have been developed upon throughout the project, an example being my production diaries, and therefore may appear in the 'wrong' places.  

  • Writer's pictureDan

NPC Interaction Script - Polo

Updated: May 8, 2018

Today I started to produce Polo’s interaction script however, instead of showing a step by step guide of how I made and edited the script, I will provide snippets from the script and discuss them.


Within Polo’s interaction script, I decided to make Polo cut off and interrupt Lucas’ sentences to emphasis his rash and unpredictable nature. By doing this, the player will sense his nature even without the game/demo being full voice acted, therefore not taking away from our characters.

Clearly representing Polo’s unpredictable personality, his displayed character sprite alternates every time he speaks, giving a visual depiction to the player. This visual representation also helps with players who tend to skip dialogue, with them gaining this unpredictable impression through the sprites alone. Further continuing this point, Lucas’ limited reactions hint to the player that this was the intended effect of Polo’s character speech, not secluding the player but aiding with their immersion – if they find the main character more relatable, the will start to associate with the game (As previously researched).

I also decided to add a hint as to where to find Teddy and therefore complete the quest. As with Patch’s Interaction Script, a younger or distracted player may need help completing this quest or reminding of it, therefore – if a player returns to Polo without completing the quest – he would say the dialogue referenced above to provide a hint for the player as to where to look for Teddy. By including this, I would implement my flow research as the player’s flow would be less likely to be interrupted; more skilled players could explore and find Teddy themselves, whilst other players could take the hint by interacting with Polo again.


Overall, I feel that Polo’s Interaction dialogue was successful and was immensely benefitted by the improvisation session I held playing as him – allowing me to think as he would and ‘talk’ as he would – allowing me to make a more realistic character because of it. If I were to have more time in the future, I would consider implementing more dialogue with Polo, allowing the player to see his more crazed/deluded side however, I would have to research further – as this type of character could scare the younger audiences of our game and therefore make our game inappropriate for our age range.

Recent Posts

See All

Exhibition Time

Now that production has stopped and the hand in has passed, there will no longer be any Dev/Production diaries within this thread. To see...

Comments


bottom of page