top of page

Diaries

Within my blog, I have separated my diaries into two categories:

Development Diaries - These posts discuss changes and alterations to my work, planning for future development and reflecting on the task at hand.

Production Diaries - These posts will discuss and evaluate my decisions when creating any final pieces of production. 

These diaries may not be uploaded within the exact order made - some of them have been developed upon throughout the project, an example being my production diaries, and therefore may appear in the 'wrong' places.  

  • Writer's pictureDan

NPC Interaction Script - Robert

Updated: May 8, 2018

Today I started to produce Robert’s interaction script however, instead of showing a step by step guide of how I made and edited the script, I will provide snippets from the script and discuss them.


Within Robert’s interaction script, I decided to make Robert abrupt and reluctant to speak to Lucas, showing his intolerable personality and symbolising the lack of care within the dome’s society – reinforcing the Cyberpunk themes of our game/demo.

Further illustrating Robert’s lack of care for Lucas, the first line spoken by Robert is that of a disrespect and discourtesy – with the expression of ‘Urgh’ having connotations of repulsion and unwillingness. Through this first line alone the player is made to feel a disconnect between Robert, therefore replicating Lucas’ feelings of him; helping the Player to immerse with Lucas.


Also portraying Robert’s personality, he mentions to Lucas that he is off duty but is still happy to arrest him. Through this, the player can sense Robert’s distain for Lucas whilst also assuming that he takes his job very seriously through the sub-text implied. With this sub-text and tone of the conversation, the player will also feel a sense of immersion because of the resemblance with the introductory trailer where it is stated how corrupt and uncaring positions of power are. Connecting these points will also help with the player’s sense of escapism by helping them think that the world created is fluent and coherent, not just thrown together.


Overall, I feel that Robert’s Interaction dialogue was successful and was immensely benefitted by the improvisation session I held playing as him – allowing me to think as he would and ‘talk’ as he would, enabling me to make a more realistic character because of it. If It was not for the time restraints in place, I would allow Lucas to interact with other police members and people of power, allowing the player to clearly see the thorough corruption of the dome, not just through one character. Doing this would also help further reinforce the cyber-punk theme, as researched, corruption is a central idea throughout the cyber-punk genre.

Recent Posts

See All

Exhibition Time

Now that production has stopped and the hand in has passed, there will no longer be any Dev/Production diaries within this thread. To see...

Comments


bottom of page