top of page

Diaries

Within my blog, I have separated my diaries into two categories:

Development Diaries - These posts discuss changes and alterations to my work, planning for future development and reflecting on the task at hand.

Production Diaries - These posts will discuss and evaluate my decisions when creating any final pieces of production. 

These diaries may not be uploaded within the exact order made - some of them have been developed upon throughout the project, an example being my production diaries, and therefore may appear in the 'wrong' places.  

  • Writer's pictureDan

Editing The Improv Sessions

Today I decided to edit the recordings of our improvisation sessions in order to have professional sounding documentation as well as provide snippets for possible future work.


Whilst listening back to our recordings, I realised that some contained unnecessary pauses where we were thinking of what to say as well as other unneeded sounds; feedback, laughing, silence etc. So, I decided to edit them down to have more professional sounding clips - that we can play anywhere, with the exhibition being an example. With the sounds edited they would be more audience friendly and therefore we can also evidence our work in a more professional manner.


However, I have had very little experience with the software at hand (Adobe Audition) and what I did have were unsuccessful attempts at sound editing, therefore I enlisted the help of Cameron – the sound/Foley artist in our class. With Cameron teaching me the basics, I started to edit down the files and save them as their edited versions, therefore reducing possible chances of loosing the raw sound files that could be needed in the future.


Overall, I think that today was successful because I was able to edit all of the clips I plan to use in the future, resulting in more audience friendly clips without any unnecessary noises/sounds. On the other hand, if I was to have spare time in the future, I would attempt to edit all of the files to be audience friendly and therefore could use any file needed without hesitation.

Recent Posts

See All

Exhibition Time

Now that production has stopped and the hand in has passed, there will no longer be any Dev/Production diaries within this thread. To see...

Exhibition Ideas

As the exhibition draws nearer, I have discussed with the class and writers what we shall produce to exhibit out work effectively and...

Overall Scripting Decisions

Before I continue to develop my scripts, I have decided to note a brief formatting choice as to prevent future delays. By adopting this...

Comentarios


bottom of page