top of page

Diaries

Within my blog, I have separated my diaries into two categories:

Development Diaries - These posts discuss changes and alterations to my work, planning for future development and reflecting on the task at hand.

Production Diaries - These posts will discuss and evaluate my decisions when creating any final pieces of production. 

These diaries may not be uploaded within the exact order made - some of them have been developed upon throughout the project, an example being my production diaries, and therefore may appear in the 'wrong' places.  

  • Writer's pictureDan

Overall Scripting Decisions

Before I continue to develop my scripts, I have decided to note a brief formatting choice as to prevent future delays. By adopting this formatting choice, my scripts will be easier to read until the final format is agreed upon.


I decided to mimic the formatting style of a TV/Movie script as that is what I have previously researched, whilst also keeping the formatting within a comfortable style. However, there are some alterations I made to better suit the game’s layout. As our demo isn’t planned to be fully voice acted, I highlighted the desired lines of voice acting within my character interaction scripts yellow, whilst changing any sounds to a blue text, therefore clearly distinguishing them both. As the cutscenes were planned to be voice acted, I kept the blue text for sounds but felt the need to drop the yellow highlight.


Besides this, I have also added the desired character sprite after the character’s name (Within my character interaction script), too clearly indicate to the level designers what sprite to insert when building the game. Unlike traditional scripts, more detail has to be shown within a game’s script because there are more factors that need to be included, therefore my prior research wasn’t as successful as I hoped.


Overall, today was successful in progressing script development but has brought to light the lack of research I have sourced for scripting – If I were to attempt this again, I would carry out more research further, therefore I will attempt to carry out more research in the future.

Recent Posts

See All

Exhibition Time

Now that production has stopped and the hand in has passed, there will no longer be any Dev/Production diaries within this thread. To see...

Exhibition Ideas

As the exhibition draws nearer, I have discussed with the class and writers what we shall produce to exhibit out work effectively and...

Finalising My Scripts

For the exhibition, I plan to have a bound script available for the public to read, therefore I need to finalise production of scripts...

Comments


bottom of page