top of page

Diaries

Within my blog, I have separated my diaries into two categories:

Development Diaries - These posts discuss changes and alterations to my work, planning for future development and reflecting on the task at hand.

Production Diaries - These posts will discuss and evaluate my decisions when creating any final pieces of production. 

These diaries may not be uploaded within the exact order made - some of them have been developed upon throughout the project, an example being my production diaries, and therefore may appear in the 'wrong' places.  

  • Writer's pictureDan

First Site Visit

Today the class and I have visited a local art gallery, named First Site, to see whether any exhibits would have a relevant application to our work, also visiting to provide the marketing teams a chance to see the space where we will be exhibiting our game/demo.



Whilst exploring the gallery, I found the Grayson Perry exhibit and drew a lot of inspiration from his work, creating a research document to accompany my visit here. Despite being a writer, not an artist, I was able to use his work to further my own interpretation skills as well as apply them to my on work, therefore helping me critique and develop it. An example being that Grayson Perry frequently put hidden/double meanings within his work and that not everything should be seen/wrote at face value. From this I have thought that, in order to write a convincing character, I need to see through their eyes, much like Perry’s visual representation, there are many different perceptions that can be drawn from one scene/image and that not everyone is going to see the same things, therefore I would need to write specifically from my characters point of view – not just what I would presume their view to be.


Overall this visit was very successful, not only was I able to draw inspiration and research from these exhibits, it has also made me think deeply and reflect upon the characters I am writing. From this exhibition, I have been inspired to start improvising as my characters and thinking how they would and in the future, I would book an improvisation session with my fellow writers – so that we can all further understand the characters we are writing.

Recent Posts

See All

Exhibition Time

Now that production has stopped and the hand in has passed, there will no longer be any Dev/Production diaries within this thread. To see...

Exhibition Ideas

As the exhibition draws nearer, I have discussed with the class and writers what we shall produce to exhibit out work effectively and...

Overall Scripting Decisions

Before I continue to develop my scripts, I have decided to note a brief formatting choice as to prevent future delays. By adopting this...

Comments


bottom of page